Customer Operations Platform. Capture more. Lose less. Work smarter. Grow more profitably.

Shiftix Cloud
← Resource Center

DriveCentric Alternatives: Five Dealership CRMs Compared on AI Control

Compare five DriveCentric alternatives on DMS fit, texting, service and who approves AI messages, plus what to carry over when you leave DriveCentric.

Buyer's guide · AutoCRMAI

The right DriveCentric alternative depends on how much of your customer messaging you want AI to send on its own. DriveCentric CRM pairs texting, video and always-on AI Agents. VinSolutions, Tekion, CDK Elead, AutoRaptor and Shiftix Cloud differ most on DMS fit and on who approves AI messages, so this guide compares all six on the same criteria.

At a glance

  • DriveCentric suits car dealers who want texting, video and AI Agents that work leads until a human hand-off, and its integrations page names nine DMS providers.
  • VinSolutions Connect CRM suits franchise stores that want a large-vendor CRM, with GenAI drafts staff approve and a Virtual Contact Assistant that engages within dealer settings.
  • Tekion CRM suits dealers on, or moving to, Tekion's platform, because Tekion describes its CRM as an extension of its DMS.
  • CDK Elead CRM suits stores that want an established CRM from a DMS vendor, and AutoRaptor suits independent or high-volume stores that want AI replies with human approval on every send.
  • Shiftix Cloud suits auto, RV, marine and powersports dealers who want a CRM and Unified Customer Inbox beside their DMS, with a human-controlled Aria AI Assistant.

How we compared DriveCentric alternatives

We compared five DriveCentric alternatives that are built for dealerships, because the ranking "alternatives" lists mostly name general-purpose CRMs or AI chat tools without checking DMS fit or AI controls. Shiftix Cloud publishes this guide and is one of the products compared.

  • How options were chosen: each is a CRM that its vendor describes as built for car dealerships and that covers lead handling and customer messaging, the core of what DriveCentric sells.
  • Evidence: each vendor's own website, read on October 15, 2026. Nothing was tested first-hand, and no vendor reviewed this guide.
  • Criteria: what the product is, lead handling, texting, email and video, DMS connection, AI and who approves its messages, service department coverage, whether pricing is published, and who it suits.
  • "Not stated" means the pages we read did not cover a point. It does not mean the product lacks it.
  • No prices. We say only whether each vendor publishes pricing.

For a wider scoring of six car dealership CRMs, see our guide to the best CRM for car dealerships. This guide is narrower: it is for stores already on DriveCentric, or shortlisting it, that want to see the alternatives side by side.

What DriveCentric CRM offers, according to DriveCentric

DriveCentric is an automotive CRM and engagement platform that its home page calls "the CRM your dealership wants to use," built around fast lead response, texting, video and AI Agents.

  • What it is: a dealership CRM sold as an Engagement Hub for sales, with a Service Engagement Hub, AI Agents, a mobile app and add-ons such as desking and reputation management, according to the Engagement Hub page.
  • Lead handling: a real-time pipeline view by buying stage, prioritized follow-up workflows and manager dashboards for appointments, response times and sales.
  • Texting, email and video: "built-in texting, email, and live video," with texts, calls, emails and videos logged to the customer record and usable from a phone or watch.
  • DMS connection: the DriveCentric integrations page names nine DMS providers: Auto/Mate, Autosoft, CDK Global, DealerBuilt, Dealertrack, Dominion, PBS, Reynolds and Reynolds, and Tekion. It advertises 100+ integrations but does not say which data moves or in which direction.
  • AI and who approves: the AI Agents page describes "always-on teammates" for lead response, prospecting past customers, nurturing, trade-in outreach and coaching. The Sales Agent works a lead "until it's ready for a human handoff." An approval step before AI messages are sent is not stated.
  • Service department: the Service Engagement Hub page describes service opportunities tracked to the closed repair order, a six-stage service pipeline, a Service Agent and one customer record shared with sales. That page was still labeled "Coming soon" when we read it, although Dealership Guy reported on August 5, 2026 that the hub had launched for current customers, with new customers able to get it from September.
  • Pricing: not published. Buyers are directed to request a demo.
  • Who it suits: franchise and independent car dealers who want messaging, video and automated engagement at the center of the CRM. RV, marine and powersports dealers are not mentioned on the pages we read.

Who sends the message? AI controls across DriveCentric alternatives

AI control is the clearest difference between DriveCentric and its alternatives, because some products send AI messages on their own within rules while others draft messages for staff to approve. The summary below uses each vendor's own wording, read on October 15, 2026.

  • DriveCentric: AI Agents respond, follow up and hand warm leads to the team. Approval before sending is not stated.
  • VinSolutions: two modes. GenAI drafts, and "your team reviews, edits, and approves messages before they are sent." The Virtual Contact Assistant handles "initial engagement and follow-up automatically," within settings the dealer controls, according to the VinSolutions AI page.
  • Tekion: AI lead routing, summaries and suggested replies. An approval step is not stated.
  • CDK Elead: AI is not mentioned on CDK's overview; customized auto-responders send vehicle details and photos.
  • AutoRaptor: "Human approval on every send," with an "AI Escalated" tab when a buyer asks something outside the AI's scope.
  • Shiftix Cloud: the Aria AI Assistant is human-controlled, and the Aria AI Assistant page describes team review before sending.

Questions to settle before you replace always-on AI Agents

A store moving off DriveCentric's AI Agents should write down what the agents do today before choosing a replacement, so nothing that happens automatically now stops without anyone noticing. This list is our recommendation, not a vendor requirement.

  • Inventory the automations. List which DriveCentric agents are switched on (sales, prospecting, nurture, trade-in, service) and what each one sends, to whom and when.
  • Decide what may send without review. For each automation, decide whether the new system should send on its own, draft for approval, or stop. Ask each vendor to show that setting in a demo.
  • Set hand-off rules. Agree which buyer questions, keywords or lead types must go to a person, and who gets alerted.
  • Cover after-hours. If the agents answer leads overnight today, confirm what the new system does at 2 a.m. and who sees those conversations in the morning.
  • Protect opt-outs. Make sure every automated sender in the new system checks the same opt-out list. Under FCC rules summarized by Troutman Pepper Locke in September 2026, revocations must be honored within a reasonable time, not more than 10 business days. The FCC revised related rules in September 2026, so confirm current requirements with your counsel.
  • Keep the record. Check that AI-sent messages are logged to the customer record, so managers can review what was said.

VinSolutions, Tekion and CDK Elead as DriveCentric alternatives

VinSolutions, Tekion and CDK Elead are the large-vendor DriveCentric alternatives: VinSolutions comes from Cox Automotive, Tekion's CRM is part of its own dealer platform, and CDK Global also sells a DMS.

VinSolutions Connect CRM

  • What it is: an "intelligent CRM" from Cox Automotive for leads, inventory and communications, according to the Connect CRM page.
  • Lead handling: automated follow-up with leads and recent customers, task assignment and Predictive Insights to flag likely buyers.
  • Texting, email and video: email and text templates; MMS texting and video marketing are listed as add-ons.
  • DMS connection: the page refers to Cox Automotive and other industry integrations but does not name DMS providers.
  • AI and who approves: GenAI drafts approved by staff; the Virtual Contact Assistant engages automatically within dealer settings.
  • Service department: one customer record across sales and service is listed.
  • Pricing: not published. Buyers are directed to a demo.
  • Who it suits: franchise stores that want an established automotive CRM from a large vendor, with a choice of AI modes.

Tekion CRM

  • What it is: the CRM in Tekion's Automotive Retail Cloud. The Tekion CRM page says "CRM is an extension of your DMS, not bolted on."
  • Lead handling: AI-powered lead routing and prioritization, with controls for how multi-store groups accept and distribute leads.
  • Texting, email and video: email, SMS and personalized outreach built into sales and service workflows; video is not stated.
  • DMS connection: built on Tekion's own platform. The page does not say whether it works with another vendor's DMS.
  • AI and who approves: suggested replies and AI prioritization; an approval step is not stated.
  • Service department: outreach is described across sales and service workflows.
  • Pricing: not published.
  • Who it suits: dealers already on Tekion's DMS, or planning to move to it, who want one vendor for CRM and DMS.

CDK Elead CRM

  • What it is: CDK Global's CRM, which CDK's Elead CRM overview calls "a fully integrated cloud-based CRM." The overview carries a 2023 copyright, so check current features with CDK.
  • Lead handling: customized auto-responders with vehicle details, photos and alternatives; telephony integration that "tracks, logs and maps all incoming calls, including missed calls."
  • Texting, email and video: not stated on the overview.
  • DMS connection: "fast and flexible integration with all major DMS providers."
  • AI and who approves: not stated on the overview.
  • Service department: not stated on the overview.
  • Pricing: not published.
  • Who it suits: stores that want an established CRM from a DMS vendor, with online or on-site training. Our Elead CRM alternatives guide covers Elead in more depth.

AutoRaptor and Shiftix Cloud as DriveCentric alternatives

AutoRaptor and Shiftix Cloud are independent of any DMS vendor and both state that staff stay in control of AI messages, which sets them apart from DriveCentric's always-on agents.

AutoRaptor

  • What it is: a dealership CRM that, on its AI Sales Assistant page, names high-volume and independent dealerships as its users.
  • Lead handling: an AI assistant that answers website, third-party and manual leads, with admin settings for business rules, scripts, tone, hours and routing.
  • Texting, email and video: text, email and chat; video is not stated.
  • DMS connection: the AutoRaptor integrations page says it "supports DMS integrations for many dealership systems" without naming DMS providers, and lists 80+ integrations set up by a specialist during onboarding.
  • AI and who approves: "Human approval on every send," plus dealer-defined escalation keywords.
  • Service department: not stated on the pages we read.
  • Pricing: the AutoRaptor pricing page shows plans by user count, with figures given on request and extra charges noted for premium integrations.
  • Who it suits: independent and high-volume car dealers that want fast AI response with a person approving each message.

Shiftix Cloud

  • What it is: a Customer Operations Platform that works alongside a dealer's DMS, ERP and accounting systems. It is not a DMS. Its CRM sits beside the Unified Customer Inbox.
  • Lead handling: condition-based routing by source, vehicle type, location or round-robin, with assignment gap monitoring, follow-up reminders, a deal-stage board, and aging and stall flags.
  • Texting, email and video: phone, email, SMS, website forms, Facebook Messenger and live chat in one inbox, and personalized video sent by link from the CRM. STOP, UNSUBSCRIBE and equivalent keywords are honored permanently for Shiftix-managed messaging.
  • DMS connection: the integrations page lists CDK (Drive), Reynolds & Reynolds, Dealertrack, Tekion, AutoMate, AutoSoft, Dealerbuilt, Dominion and PBS among its DMS platforms, and says availability, data direction, permissions and setup are confirmed during implementation.
  • AI and who approves: the Aria AI Assistant prepares follow-up drafts and summarizes calls. It is human-controlled: staff review and approve before follow-up is sent.
  • Service department: Improved Service Communications ties scheduling, messages, approvals, payments and follow-up to each repair order, with the DMS kept as the system that runs the operation.
  • Pricing: published on the Shiftix Cloud pricing page, which says data cleanup and complex migrations may carry a separately scoped implementation fee agreed before work begins.
  • Who it suits: auto, RV, marine and powersports dealers who want CRM, messaging and human-controlled AI in one place without changing their DMS.

Before you book demos, it helps to know where leads slip in your current process; the Revenue Leak Audit is a complimentary, no-obligation review of lead response, follow-up and retention.

What to carry over when you leave DriveCentric

Leaving DriveCentric means carrying over more than contacts, because much of its value sits in message history, videos and automation rules. Ask DriveCentric in writing what you can export, and ask each new vendor what it can import, before you give notice.

  • Conversation history: texts, emails, call logs and notes tied to each customer record, so salespeople do not restart conversations cold.
  • Videos: walkaround and personal videos already sent to customers. Ask whether links keep working after the contract ends.
  • Automation rules: smart lists, business rules and agent settings you will need to rebuild by hand, written down before access ends.
  • Opt-out and consent records: import these before any automated message runs in the new system.
  • Phone and text numbers: ask both vendors whether the numbers customers already use can be ported, and how long it takes.
  • Lead sources and the DMS connection: re-point every lead source, send a test lead from each, and confirm the new CRM's DMS connection by name.
  • Vendor security terms: the FTC's Safeguards Rule guidance says contracts with service providers "must spell out your security expectations," and that customer information should be disposed of securely no later than two years after its most recent use, unless there is a business or legal reason to keep it.

For contract notice, cutover week and the first 30 days, the four-stage checklist in our Elead switching guide applies to any CRM change, DriveCentric included.

Which DriveCentric alternative should you choose?

The right DriveCentric alternative follows from three decisions: whether you want the CRM inside your DMS, how much AI should send without review, and which departments and vertical markets the CRM must cover.

  • Happy with DriveCentric's agents but not its fit elsewhere: VinSolutions is the closest match in AI approach, with both approved drafts and an automatic assistant.
  • Moving to, or already on, Tekion: start with Tekion CRM, and check how its AI suggestions are controlled.
  • Wanting a person to approve AI messages: compare AutoRaptor and Shiftix Cloud, and ask each to show the approval step in a demo.
  • Wanting sales and service on one record: compare DriveCentric's Service Engagement Hub, VinSolutions, Tekion and Shiftix Cloud's Improved Service Communications. Our guide to automotive service CRM explains what to look for.
  • Running RV, marine or powersports stores as well as auto: check which vendors serve every store you run; Shiftix Cloud serves all four.
  • Not sure the CRM is the problem: measure response time first. Our speed to lead research summary explains why that number is worth watching.

For background on what any dealership CRM should do and what drives its cost, read our automotive CRM guide, and for consent and wording rules on texts, see our guide to dealership text messaging.

Frequently asked questions

Is DriveCentric a DMS?

No. DriveCentric is a dealership CRM and engagement platform, not a dealer management system. Its integrations page lists nine DMS providers it connects with, including CDK Global, Reynolds and Reynolds, Dealertrack and Tekion. Those pages do not say which records move between the systems or in which direction, so ask DriveCentric before relying on any sync.

Does DriveCentric publish its pricing?

No. DriveCentric does not publish prices on the pages we read in October 2026, and directs buyers to request a demo. Dealership CRM cost usually depends on the number of users and rooftops, the modules chosen, add-ons such as AI Agents or desking, and messaging volume. Ask for a written quote that lists each item separately.

Do DriveCentric AI Agents send messages without staff approval?

DriveCentric's AI Agents page does not say. It describes agents that respond to leads, keep following up and hand warm leads to a person, but it describes no approval step before a message is sent. If approval matters to your store, ask DriveCentric to show the agent settings in a demo before you decide.

Does DriveCentric have a CRM for the service department?

Yes, DriveCentric describes a Service Engagement Hub for service advisors and service BDC teams. It tracks service opportunities to the closed repair order and includes an AI Service Agent. Dealership Guy reported its launch on August 5, 2026, although DriveCentric's own page still read "Coming soon" in October 2026, so confirm availability.

Find where leads slip before you switch CRMs

A new CRM fixes some problems and carries others over. The Revenue Leak Audit from Shiftix Cloud is complimentary, with no obligation and no software purchase required. It looks at lead response, follow-up, conversion, customer retention, accountability and workflow, and Shiftix walks through the findings with you, whichever CRM you choose.

Sources